Opinion polls(poetry)

Thoughtful Truths

By Eudiah Kamonjo.

 

I have desired to grow old

In my own country, my world

Surrounded by these friendly hearts so bold

And the tropical weather hardly cold

 

I have asked to be led

To develop a place that’s all good

A place where we all live in the harmony of old

A place not despair-crashed

 

I have swore not to leave

And search yonder for greener pasture

Every five years I have waited with ease

And Desired

Aspired

Craved

Sometimes conspired see…

 

And now that I know that I ain’t helpless

Now that I know that I ain’t voiceless

Now that I know that this card of mine counts nonetheless

Now you want to cloud my judgement with

Your opinion polls that are factless

 

You will not cloud my thoughtful truths

With your opinion polls

You will not cloud my dreams for change

With your opinion polls

 

Stop all these noise

For I have shoved my middle finger 

Into your press conferences

I have blocked my ears from your

Kamasutra-designed opinion polls

For my vote has more power

My vote counts…..

 

Leave a Reply

