The moments; second half of my year 2013

August: I joined a bunch of bikers for the Narok Motorcycle Ride 2013. The event (a partnership between the Outriders Association of Kenya and the Olmarei Lang Self-Help Organisation), is an annual fundraising event to help vulnerable children in the area. The ride from Karen to Narok was supberb, so was meeting musicians such as Ole Pakuo and the Maasai Warriors, bikers, bike lovers and the Narok kids (who taught me how to use tree branches to swing from tree to tree 🙂

with kids from Suswa, Narok

with kids from Suswa, Narok

with fellow writers at the Storymoja Hay Festival

with fellow writers at the Storymoja Hay Festival

September: I attend the Storymoja Hay Festival at the Nairobi National Museum.I loved watching the play version of Muthoni Garland’s book ‘Attack of the shidas’ dramatized by The Theatre company, the Fab Lab Robotics by University of Nairobi students, the read aloud and the art session by Dayan Masinde. It was during sex therapist Getrude Mungai’s session that I heard the news about the terrorist attack at the Westgate Mall. Sadly, Ghanain Prof. Kofi Awoonor (who had travelled to Nairobi to attend the festival) was killed here. The festival had to came to an end. This is the month that I also began a series of interviews that will lead to an adventure memoir. While undertaking these interviews, I realize how little I know about my country and continent as a whole. I am challenged to explore more deeply even before I venture outside. October: I move house and host my first every girls-only housewarming. I also visit Wajee Nature Park in Mukurwe-ini, where I learn about culture, birds and trees.

At Wajee Nature Park

At Wajee Nature Park

November: Hardest month ever. Someone very dear to me becomes a victim of Nairobi’s reckless drivers. It’s going to be a while before we get back to biking again. So much for getting a scooter; not sure when I will learn how to ride.

River Sabaki meets Indian Ocean

River Sabaki meets Indian Ocean

December: Holiday at the Mwembe Resort in Malindi, thanks to a girlfriend’s investment in the Baobab Mwembe Village. It’s an all girl’s time-out and damn…It is epic! WE chill out at Rosada Beach too, go clubbing, dinner at Old man and the sea and go out of our way to see where River Sabaki meets the Indian Ocean. Going to the Maasai Mara was mind-blowing. I spend the week at the Maasai-guarded Wajee Mara Camp where we could hear the hyenas right outside our tents, chat til’ the a.m around a warming born-fire sipping gin and tonic. I will never forget the smells, sounds and sights of the Mara National Park; out snacks being snatched by the wild animals, having to stay still as the lions crossed our paths, watching a snake swallow a full antelope, mingling with the visiting families from all over the world and learning so much about the wild.

masai mara lion

masai mara lion

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

